RIAS Awards Shortlist 2019

The RIAS Awards 2019

Now in their eighth year, the combined RIAS/RIBA Awards continue to demonstrate the quality and breadth of current architectural endeavour in Scotland. This year’s shortlisted includes a number of major new-build projects, alongside adaptations and extensions of existing properties and innovative single dwellings. Scotland’s architecture continues to be of exemplary quality.

Judging will take place at the end of April with the RIAS Awards Winners being announced at a dinner at the Assembly Rooms, Edinburgh on 30th May. The RIBA National Awards will be announced in June.

President of the RIAS, Robin Webster OBE, commented:
“This year’s judges were struck by the continuing high standard of submissions and found shortlisting very difficult indeed. This is an impressive list of buildings that all show the ambitious level of excellence that architects and their clients can achieve, and I hope that communities, government and local authorities, along with everyone else who needs to procure buildings will look at these examples and ensure that their ambitions match them. Our awards celebrate the very best that is being built in Scotland.”

The judging panel for this year is Prof. John Cole CBE Hon FRIAS (Chair), Joanna van Heyningen OBE RIBA, van Heyningen and Haward Architects (representing the Royal Institute of British Architects), Catriona Hill from CH Architecture and Peter McCaughey, WAVEparticle.

Stuart McKill, Saint-Gobain (Emerging Architect Award judge) and Jon Stevenson (Timber Award judge) will join the judges on tour to judge their specific awards only.

Steven Robb, Deputy Head of Casework, Heritage Directorate at Historic Environment Scotland (Conservation and Climate Change Award representative) was also involved in the shortlisting discussions and the Scottish Government are, once again, supporting the Scotland’s Client of the Year Award.

Awards Dinner

The Assembly Rooms, George Street, Edinburgh

This prestigious, black tie event, presented by broadcaster and author Sally Magnusson Hon FRIAS, will include the presentation of this year’s RIAS Awards (which became the long list for The RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award 2019) and the announcements of the Scottish Forestry / Wood for Good, Historic Environment Scotland, Saint-Gobain (Emerging Architect) and Scottish Government (Client of the Year) special category awards.

The RIBA National Awards will be announced in June 2019.