RIAS Award Winners 2019

At its Awards Dinner in Edinburgh on 30th May, The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) announced 10 winners for its 2019 Awards, representing the very best of current Scottish architecture.

RIAS Awards

The Black House, Isle of Skye (contract value not for publication)
Dualchas Architects Ltd for a Private Client

Briongos MacKinnon House, Strathaven (contract value not for publication)
Richard Murphy Architects Limited for Colin MacKinnon

Broomlands Primary School, Kelso (£8 m)
Stallan-Brand Architecture + Design Ltd for Scottish Borders Council

Collective on Calton Hill, Edinburgh (£4 m)
Collective Architecture (original architectural practice – Malcolm Fraser Architects ) for City of Edinburgh Council and Collective

The Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience, Craigellachie (£140 m)
Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners for Edrington

Mackintosh at the Willow, Glasgow (contract value not for publication)
Simpson & Brown for Willow Tea Rooms Trust

The Raining’s Stairs Development, Inverness (contract value not for publication)
Trail Architects for Ark Estates

Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service – The Jack Copland Centre, Edinburgh (£30 m)
Reiach and Hall Architects for Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service

Tollcross Housing Association Offices, Glasgow (£2.92 m)
Elder and Cannon Architects for Tollcross Housing Association

V&A Dundee (£80.1 m)
Kengo Kuma & Associates with PiM.studio Architects and James F Stephen Architects for Dundee City Council

Prof. John Cole CBE Hon FRIAS, Jury Chair, commented:

“The journey to view the nineteen shortlisted projects, which, within a hectic but rewarding three-day period, took my fellow judges and myself through the intriguing Scottish borders, the self-confident central belt, and the glorious landscapes of the highlands and islands, was for all of us a reaffirmation of the fundamental importance of the ability of architecture at its best to positively influence the lives of individuals and communities.”

Special Category Awards:
In the eighth year of its awards the RIAS has again teamed up with Scottish Forestry/Wood for Good, Historic Environment Scotland, The Scottish Government and Saint-Gobain for our four prestigious sub-category awards.

The Best Use of Timber
The winner of the Wood for Good/Scottish Forestry Award for the Best Use of Timber was:

The Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience, Craigellachie
Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners for Edrington

Commendation to Cairngorms National Park Authority Headquarters by Moxon Architects Ltd.

Timber Award judge, Jon Stevenson, said:
“The Macallan Distillery is an exceptional building. We were especially impressed by the use of Glulam and LVL as structural components in the roof domes but also were struck by the generous use of timber throughout the interior, and in particular the quality of design and craftsmanship throughout the building.
We also felt that the Cairngorm National Park Authority HQ merited a commendation for a well thought through solution for a building in the heart of Grantown on Spey, with a clever combination of CLT structure and extensive use of native larch cladding.”

Conservation and Climate Change
The winner of the Historic Environment Scotland Award for Conservation and Climate Change was:

Borders Distillery, Hawick
Gray Macpherson Architects

Steven Robb, Deputy Head of Casework, Heritage Directorate at Historic Environment Scotland, said:
“The quality of the entries this year was fantastic, and as ever, we had a difficult task choosing a winner. After careful consideration, we decided to focus on regeneration projects within economically disadvantaged town centres.
“Therefore, we are delighted to award Borders Distillery with the Historic Environment Scotland Award for Conservation and Climate Change. Borders Distillery took an inventive approach to both architectural conservation and climate change and is the first distillery to open in the Borders in almost 200 years.
“As well as the winning project, we awarded our commendation to two projects - Ingram centre in Kilmarnock and the Council Offices in Church Street, Dumbarton. Both projects celebrate the positive and practical reuse of listed buildings by local authorities.”

Emerging Architect
The winner of the Saint-Gobain Emerging Architect Award was:

Emma Fairhurst, Collective Architecture for Collective on Calton Hill, Edinburgh

Stuart McKill, Saint-Gobain’s Business Support Director, said;
“This project demonstrates the best in restoration and creative redevelopment across this important World Heritage site. In delivering this project Emma has brought together old and new architecture whist giving excellent consideration to the surrounding environment. The use of materials and a prism of contemporary culture add further to the project given the sites history whilst recognising what a "City Observatory" could mean today. The new structures and renovations within the site boundary are wholly appropriate delivering an ambience of light, warmth and comfort, creating a desire to explore further which is indeed the purpose. Without doubt Emma's solution to the site will bring much interest, enjoyment and engagement to this project and all who visit for many years to come. As such Emma is a most worthy winner of this year's Saint-Gobain Emerging Architect Award.”

Scotland’s Client of the Year
The winner of the Scottish Government Scotland’s Client of the Year Award was:

The Willow Tea Rooms Trust for Mackintosh at the Willow, Glasgow

RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award
The 10 winners of this year’s RIAS Awards form the longlist for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award which is supported by the Doolan Family and the Scottish Government.

The Doolan Award is judged separately from the RIAS Awards and this year the Doolan jury will select their shortlist (announced later in the summer) and carry out visits in late September, led by Jury Chair, Sadie Morgan of dRMM architects. The Doolan Award will be presented by the Scottish Government and the Doolan family at the RIAS Convention Dinner on 4th October in Edinburgh.

RIBA National Awards
The RIBA National Awards in Scotland will be announced on 27th June 2019.

More news from RIAS