Theatre Royal, Glasgow – Page\Park Architects

© Andrew Lee

Council and Committees

As stipulated in the Incorporation's Charter and Byelaws, the governance of the RIAS is federal with the six Chapters (Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Inverness and Stirling) electing office bearers and representatives to the ruling Council to sit alongside nationally-elected members, senior committee convenors and co-optees.

The Council is advised on strategy matters by committees whose remits reflect the breadth of RIAS' activity.

Committees / Working Groups

A robust committee structure underpins the Incorporation's governance. Each committee has agreed remits and overarching Terms of Reference are in place to ensure that committees are of sufficient size to be representative but contained in number to ensure effectiveness, that meetings are tightly timetabled to respect the valuable voluntary contribution of members’ time, that meetings are quorate and that committee membership is ‘refreshed’ on agreed cycles.

The committees, whose membership includes representatives of each Chapter, offer guidance on all aspects of the Incorporation's undertakings. Committee meetings are planned on a quarterly cycle, reflecting that of Council. Working and Review Groups meet as and when required. RIAS Council can also appoint a number of Short-Life Working Groups when necessary.

Council Schedule 2020: 1st April; 3rd June; 2nd September; 28th October; 2nd December

RIAS Council Members

  • President: Robin Webster OBE
  • Karen Anderson
  • Richard Atkins
  • Stuart Bagshaw
  • Jude Barber
  • David Chouman
  • Timothy Crone
  • Jocelyn Cunliffe
  • Gordon Duffy
  • Malcolm Fraser
  • Jon Frullani
  • Christina Gaiger
  • Isabel Garriga
  • Michael Good
  • William Gunn
  • Alice Henderson
  • Sholto Humphries
  • Alan Jones PRIBA
  • Helen Lucas
  • Diarmid McLachlan
  • Guy Maxwell
  • Nicola McLachlan
  • Fraser Middleton
  • Stephen Miles
  • Ian Muir
  • Christine Palmer
  • Ben Rainger
  • Kerr Robertson
  • Shane Rodgers
  • Richard Slater
  • Gordon G Smith
  • Nicholas Taggart